Copied:

On Thu, May 3, 2012 at 9:19 PM, JTawfilis@aol.com wrote:

Revolution Evolution

Pulling at my heart strings, the sounds of protest thunder in my ears.  I cover them and try so hard to block them out and pretend I cannot hear.

I close my eyes and see the faces, looming by the thousands in the crowds and then the sounds come back thundering loud…so loud!

Revolution…evolution can’t be held at bay, when there are millions with so much more to say…

My eyes then open and I see it’s not a dream as I watch people run and cry and scream.

I feel my knees grow weak the tears well in my eyes, as I look up toward heaven’s skies.

My fears grow stronger as the darkness comes and troops roll in.  I know what’s coming and the panic grows within.
Revolution…evolution can’t be held at bay, when there are millions with so much to say…

So many young, so many old have come united, but guns and clubs have now been sighted.

Voices loud and chanting, signs held high; I watch and wait …something has gone awry!!!

Shooting starts and beatings crack and break their bones, as soldiers come in groups and packs like drones.
Revolution…evolution can’t be held at bay, when there are millions with so much to say…

I watch in panicked horror as the violence peaks, as silenced voices that no longer speak.

Tearful faces screaming Mothers beckon, as swinging clubs and gunfire keep on wrecking…

Revolution…evolution can’t be held at bay, when there are millions with so much to say…

The generations can’t be wrong when things aren’t right, propelling them to stand and speak and fight!

I touch my heart and know this to be true but I feel pain as I am watching you.
Knowing that so many will return, to speak the truth as torches light and burn…

For Revolution….evolution can’t be held at bay, when there are millions with so much to say…

Months pass on by yet nothing seems to change…all’s not quiet as bubbling angst begins to rage…

People come again out to the streets, what seemed like silence, time could not defeat…

For Revolution…evolution can’t be held at bay, when there in Egypt there is still much more to say!

Joanne Tawfilis

May 2012